Some people think watching TV is bad for children in every way. Others think it is good for developing children as they grow up. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that watching TV is generally harmful for children, while I believe that it has some benefits for the development of children.

Those who points out that children should not watch TV as it has disadvantages for them. The first and foremost drawback is the eyesight issues. If children watch TV more than average, it may damage their eyes. As a result, this may lead to decrease the level seeing and contribute to other problems while studying, reading books. Additionally, children tend to be addicted to screen. This means that if they have free time, they go for watching TV rather than doing necessary or beneficial activities such as reading books, listening to podcasts or helping parents do household chores.

Despite disadvantages mentioned above, I acknowledge that watching TV can bring benefits to some extent. Firstly, as it is known children really enjoy watching cartoons and movies about animals. These cartoons and movies help them develop their imagination. Consequently, if parents or teachers ask for them drawing the picture of an elephant, they can draw easily this animal by using their imagination created through watching TV. Furthermore, while watching TV, young people may learn new words which they face first such as the names of animals, fruits or vegetables. This, in turn, means that they have a chance to enhance their vocabulary scale.

To conclude, although watching TV has several drawbacks such as decreasing the level seeing and becoming easily addicted, in my opinion, children can benefit from it, including enrich their imagination and vocabulary.