Some people think young people should be free to choose his or her job ,but other people think they should be realistic and think more about their future.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people argue that young people must take a realistic view of their future and select a job that will enable them to pursue a successful career, whereas others consider that they should be allowed to decide what job they want. In today’s world, I agree with the view that young people should choose a job which they want and which they will enjoy.

On the one hand, some adults advise youngsters to think of the future when applying for work. They stress the benefits of having a steady job, with promotion opportunities and a chance to move up the career ladder. They may advise youngsters to do a vocational course or to obtain a university degree which will offer good job prospects. For example, though a child may be interested in drama or philosophy, adults may insist on a course such as business studies or accounting.

On the other hand, there are two reasons why I agree with those who believe that young people should follow their interests and find a job that they will enjoy. Firstly, in today’s world of rapid socio-economic changes, there is no longer any job security. Work is precarious owing to the digital revolution, and future planning is impossible. For instance, robotics technology, although still in its infancy, has already transformed the workplace. Secondly, young people who prioritise job satisfaction are more likely to perform their work well. This is a much stronger motivation than money or career status.

In conclusion, the future of work is unpredictable and planning a career is a waste of time. I support the argument that young people should be free to decide which job will bring them enjoyment and satisfaction.