Some people today prefer to get advice online for medical problems and do not want to visit a doctor. Why is this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

In the contemporary era, individuals take advice about health problems in preference to visiting hospitals or clinics, which stems from the two reasons: the amount of effort required and the development of the Internet. This, though may seem convenient, does directly harm to us.

Since people now would rather take advice than see a doctor, due to the time and money spent, along with the Internet’s advancement. Firstly, paying a visit to the hospital for a medical check-up is rather time-consuming and costly. The long line waiting to have a consultation with a doctor to get diagnosed is unavoidable, let alone the time for the tests appointed and medicine pickup. Besides, it is the cost that refrains most people from seeing a doctor. Though most expenses are covered by insurance, the amount still places a financial burden on those who choose to have their problem taken care of by practitioners. Moreover, with the explosion of the Internet, any suggestions or advice are available without much effort. Whenever a person is sick, he can easily google their symptoms and get diagnosed instantly. This provides our society with convenience and prompt results.

While the modern practice is less costly and timesaving, I personally oppose to the idea seeking advice online as it will do harm than good. To begin with, relying on the advice can lead to misdiagnosis as they may not be reliable. Doctors are specialized to diagnose, treat, and suggest medicine based on their patients’ symptoms. Secondly, with the misdiagnosis, a patient can risk missing the right time to cure their illnesses. Hence, this practice is not suggested and will harm the community severely.

Though seeking advice when falling sick is far more preferred than consulting with doctors, due to its convenience and the Internet’s expansion, it directly impacts individuals’ health and the society in a negative way.