Some people view teenage conflict with their parents as a necessary part of growing up, whilst others see it as something negative which should be avoided. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Conflicts are the embodiments of unsettled differences, of contrasting ideologies and conception. It is reasonable to conclude therefore, that the existence of arguments is imperative to peacekeeping, especially in families and parent-teen relationships. However, handled incorrectly and an argument could backfire, having unintended physical and emotional consequences. Despite this, I still believe arguments are important for family dynamics, and the development of each family member.

On the one hand, conflicts can be beneficial for inter-familial relationships, especially between parents and children. A civilized argument would not involve obscenities, aggression, or violence, resembling a well-intentioned debate. Therefore, this would help both sides to contain their ego, stifling the dogmatism and stubbornness in one’s subconscious, and most importantly, improve emotional intelligence. Moreover, such conflicts can also strengthen familial bonds, fostering open communication between parents and teenagers, and encourage self-expression in those who are taciturn. Another beneficial aspect of conflicts is the development of teenagers. Being involved in rows would be an opportunity for teenagers to display their problem-solving skills, building maturity, and independence. Additionally, arguments constitute valuable skills such as resilience, determination, and emotional intelligence, for family members have to know when to sympathize and to admit themselves in different situations.

On the other hand, the outcomes of unresolved conflict could be detrimental on individual members and endanger relationships. Constant arguments can result in physical display of anger, aggression, exerting a bad influence on teenagers. Such violence could also instill subliminally in teenagers, hostile actions and negative behavioral patterns. Moreover, excessive conflicts could also endanger parent-teen relationships, reducing familial interactions and communication altogether. Consequently, school grades are negatively affected, resulting in a poor school performance and diminished mental health.

In conclusion, conflicts are necessary for the development of family bonds, reconciliation after arguing strengthens relationships, However, it is important to note that one must be composed and reasonable during a row, otherwise it could have unintended or detrimental effect on family relationships. Personally, I believe it is important that we recognize individual family differences and understand, settling them through civilized debates and arguments