Some people view teenage conflict with their parents as a necessary part of growing up, whilst others view it as something negative which should be avoided. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Conflict that occurs between teenagers and their parents is often considered normal during adolescence. Some people believe that disagreement is sometimes essential for both parties to learn life lessons. Others view it as an unfortunate circumstance that influences teenagers. Therefore, it should be anticipated earlier.

A viewpoint that supports the view that the dispute between youth and their parents is substantial, driven by several factors. First, the main reason for this opinion is that, through the altercation, both the teenagers and the parents gain an opportunity to develop a deeper understanding of each other’s emotional, mental, and psychological states. Second, conflict can sometimes serve as a bridge to restore a vulnerable relationship between the parties if managed appropriately. Recent studies support the fact that rather than a destructive effect, 8 out of 10 cases of inter-generational disagreement tend to be improved after all sides express their emotions and convey their opinion transparently.

On the other hand, tensions can be very risky to influence the youngster’s blooming phase. Adolescence is the phase where teens are quite malleable, full of exploration, and in need of attention. Meanwhile, the adults are the cohort who already have experience and have gone through that moment, so it is reasonable that they must be more mentally stable and have more content in their behaviour towards the youth. Therefore, conflict can be avoided.

In my opinion, even though quarreling should be avoided as much as possible, sometimes it is inevitable. The most important thing is how to overcome it with serenity. The parents, as elders, should act wiser to understand the dynamics of youthful blood, so that the teens may feel warmly understood and have a sense that they are trusted.

In conclusion, conflict is a part of everyone’s life, regardless of age. Undeniably, it will affect our mental state, which leads to our decisions and demeanor, approving its huge influence. Therefore, everyone needs to learn the creative management of dispute settlement, particularly between teenagers and parents.