Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a fact that, today many people are not living much longer. The average lifespan is decreasing; thus the retirement age should not be raised. In this essay, I will discuss why i disagree with increasing the retirement age.

There are three main reasons for disagreeing. Firstly, older people are not as active in work procedures as young people. When the number of older people in the workforce increases, it becomes more difficult for young people to find work, and the new generation cannot find careers when they graduate. The second main reason is that the average lifespan of older people today is decreasing; therefore, increasing the pension age and lowering the retirement age can be in their favor.

And the final reason is that, nowadays there are a lot of people who have never traveled to another country and dedicated their whole lives to work. From my perspective, every person should not devote his whole life to work, because life is given to a person only once, and all the beauties of life should be experienced; one of them is to travel. Every person should be given this opportunity, and my best wish for older people is to go on a world tour after working life, with a high-income pension.

In conclusion, the young generation always needs the experience and advice of older people. For this reason, it is important to invite people who have worked in workplaces and who have retired to interesting seminars in companies. This will be a motivation for older people, and their experience will be useful for young people. So, I strongly disagree with raising the retirement age. I support elderly people earning more, retiring early, and traveling the world.