Some say that the most important thing about being rich is that one has the opportunity to help others. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Helping others in need is considered to be the highest virtue whether it is financially or emotionally. Though people need money to help those in need of financial difficulty, the purpose of helping goes way behind wealth or any kind of materialistic things. To address this opinion, the essay will discuss why being wealthy is considered the best one, but never the only one.

To begin with, helping people does not always involve financial capability. There are people who provide moral support to those in need of them. A friend of mine once told me, when we were talking about mental health and its role in our modern-day lifestyle that; how stress, anxiety, and depression re-wires a person completely, paving way for their mental breakdown. However, when a person is in depression, the most crucial thing he/she needs is moral support from their family and friends, rather than money to make them stay away from all the things that causes them any emotional stress. Though it could be argued that, money does helps us in diverting our sadness, it never gives us a permanent solution. Therefore, it is more appropriate to say that money cannot really be used as an instrument in helping others in every possible way and certainly not the important one in this case.

However, wealth does play its significant role in helping people, especially those from poor background; for whom getting one meal per day is a struggle, as compared to living a modest lifestyle. Poverty is still prevailing in most of the countries, despite their booming economies. A perfect example to support this point could be observed, when the whole world succumbed to COVID pandemic, leading to a large number of casualties in many regions of the world. It was during this time, many wealthy communities contributed to the people in need of medication to fight the pandemic. Research concluded that, more than 10% of the top millionaries and billionares donated more than 35% of their wealth towards their respective countries relief fund in fighting the corona wide-spread.

To conclude, although being rich has helped people in many diverse ways, it is inappropriate to come to a conclusion that it is the only way of helping others. Nevertheless, it is much sensible to give credit to one’s kindness in aiding others, rather than leaning completely towards financial status.