Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

Globalisation and human actions in the planet have played a crucial role in endangering many species of animals. In this essay, I will make an assessment of the main causes of animals being at risk of extinction and suggest possible solutions to mitigate the problem.

To start with, the urbanization and industralization of cities have resulted in the destruction of habitats and ecosystems, disturbing the normal life of the animals inhabiting in them. Furthermore, human activity had a pivotal role in deforestation processes, contamination of seas and the introduction of exotic species in improper habitats. A good example, was the introduction of the American crab by humans in European rivers, which resulted in the total depletion of local crabs, as the foreign specie was a predator of the latter. As a consequence of those alterations, animals cannot adapt and die out.

To alleviate this issue, governments should put protective laws in place to control the trafficking and trade of animals. For instance, nations should establish international hunting and poaching limits, to enhance the recovery in numbers of endangered species. Rules like this would be specially efficient in Asia, where the decrease in number of whales, used for consumption and generation of animal-based products, have reached alarming levels. Finally, another compelling solution, is the promotion of breeding programmes, already used in zoos, that protect and foster the reproduction of animals such as pandas.

To conclude, humans have a fundamental part in the destruction of the environment and ecosystems that animals live in. Therefore, it is our responsibility to set up rules that protect animals and encourage a controlled system for animal use and trading between nations.