Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

One school of thought holds that some new graduates particularly into taking a gap year before attending tertiary education to commute to work or go for a trip. This essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and demerits of this phenomenon before concluding the latter is more significant.

On the one hand, school leavers opt for travelling or working before enrolling in higher education could be advantageous to a certain extent. Firstly, this trend could provide a head start in gaining real-world life. Particularly, by working part-time jobs, students could enhance their soft skills such as communication or solving problem, which not only enables them to gain knowledge but only aids them have more confidence before moving to metropolitan area and pursuing university. Secondly, delaying tertiary education could have a chance for pupils to recuperate their mental well-being after studying flat-out. For instance, travelling oversea could leave them alleviate stress, recharge their batteries before starting a new challenge in the university.

On the other hand, there are a host of reasons as to why I am convinced that take a break could offers more drawbacks. One rationale is that postpone education could leave them underprepared for school curriculum. Specifically, without proper planning, some pupils might not manage their self-study effective, diminishing their learning capacity. Thus, they are very likely start their journey academic later than their peers, leading to peer pressure as the feeling of falling behind. Another justification is that working or travelling could precursor to slow down students’ academic life progress. For example, student who take on part-time job often have a busy schedule that leave them feeling exhausted and insufficient time to focus on studies. Consequently, they could lack of their motivation and struggle with maintain self-study on day-to-day basis.

In conclusion, it is irrefutable that postponing education on one year in order to work or go for a trip could have upsides, I wound contend that the downsides which is offers are significantly more noteworthy.