Some suggest that young people should take a job for a few years between school and university. Discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Several people opine that youngsters have to spend their gap years to work. While this condition can be beneficial for them to gain financial stability and work experience, I believe it brings some drawbacks to their social life and academic performance.

To begin with, there is a common conception that securing job after school year has its favor for young people in order to earn money before enrolling in a higher degree. They can be financially independent so they can choose any university that they want to enter without thinking about the tuition fee. Additionally, they will get the exposure to the professional environment that makes them easier to cope with work settings. Furthermore, they can get many insights about the job that can shape their career path based on their experiences in the workplace as a result.

Having said that, sacrificing the time for work puts the youth at risk of having a lack of community life. They will lose time to interact with peers and family, and have limited time to do their hobbies, for example. It is also worth noting that when juveniles delay their academic year, they will be not really prepared for study routine. If the work during the gap year does not involve academic or intellectual stimulation, there is a risk of losing study habits and academic skills. A good illustration for this is the youth workers may experience a decline in their reading and writing skills as they do not use it much on their job duties.

Taking everything into consideration, spending time to work before pursuing further education may offer valuable impacts for young individuals in terms of economic security and professional experience, it can also entail drawbacks concerning social engagement and educational achievement