Some think that exercise is the key to health while others feel that having a balanced diet is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There are segments of the population that opine that exercise is the crucial element in improving a person’s health, whereas other sections think that eating a balanced diet would achieve better results. In my opinion, while a balanced diet can improve an individual’s health by lowering their calorie intake, working out is better because it provides the option to increase or reduce the amount of calories burned based on the specific needs.

One benefit of exercising is that it allows the resident to burn fewer or more calories, depending on how their body is programmed. There are people who have a low metabolism, meaning that minimizing their calorie intake would only lead to the body storing more fat. If the resident goes to the gym, then they can fine-tune their exercise routine based on the body’s response so as to achieve their targeted goals. One good example is derived from a study conducted by Curtin University on the effectiveness of exercise, where it showed that it caters to persons with both low and high metabolism.

However, eating healthy food can also be effective due to its ability to minimize the individual’s calorie intake. By doing this, the subject will be able to reduce harmful food, notably carbohydrates and fats, renowned for their role in increasing the body’s weight. Despite the aforementioned, eating a balanced diet can be difficult to maintain, meaning that many individuals are likely to rebound to their old habits. For instance, a study in the United Kingdom showed that the majority of residents, who embark on eating healthy foods, end up quitting and returning to old unhealthy habits.

In conclusion, although a balanced meal could be important when attempting to live a healthy life, I believe that exercising is more effective and gives you better control based on your specific requirements.