Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some people written communication is less impactful as compared to verbal communication. This essay will totally agree with the statement while providing suitable explanation and examples.

In my opinion, verbal communication is the most effective and efficient way of delivering our message to the listener. It helps the listeners brain to clearly understand and comprehend the message in short period of time by not only focusing on words but also on voice tone, body language and facial expressions. For instance, most of the politicians and motivational speakers attract their audience through their verbal speeches and get tremendous amount of fame. In many hospitals, phycologist also use speech therapies to treat their patient.

On the other hand, written text can lead to several meanings depending on the reader perception. It is not only time consuming process but can lead to a lot of misunderstandings if not perceived properly such as written text messages. In my point of view, written communication is more appropriate for official purpose, and it helps to document all necessary information without creating any ambiguity and can be used later for reference. For example, lesser fights will happen between couples if they effectively communicate with each other instead of interacting with each other through text message.

To conclude, in spite of advancement in communication technology, verbal communication is most reliable means of expressing one’s thoughts. Written communication can be used to interact with each other, but most often verbal communication should be used to deliver clear and concise information.