Students leave high school without learning the way how to manage their money. What are the reasons and solutions of this issue?

In our contemporary life, the problem of managing budgets of students after high school has become more serious than ever before. Some people believe that this dilemma has resulted from poor education on financial management skills, while an army of others claim that overprotecting parenting styles is supposed to hold accountability for it. Within this paper, I intend to elaborate on sources of this problem as well as suggest some viable solutions.

Chief among the primary causes is that modern curriculums mainly prioritize theoretical subjects such as Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and so forth. It can be conceded that students nowadays are overwhelmed with theoretical knowledge . To be more specific, high schoolers in Southeast Asia spend more than 8 hours a day studying for university, virtually leaving no room for other practical life skills. Another contributing factor to this challenge is overprotecting parenting style. It is an undeniable fact that juveniles lack financial independence, since they are completely shielded from financial burdens by their parents.

In order to resolve this worrying trend, I am personally convinced that we must address the root causes. Perhaps, the most effective method of tackling this would be governments should reform curriculums at the present, implementing new subjects such as teaching students to manage their budgets efficiently. In addition, another practical approach is opening local workshops for kids, instilling hands-on experience in spending money, which eventually benefits them as they mature. Admittedly, it is hard for the system to change entire generations to be better in this. Therefore it is required for parents in changing their approaches of guiding their offspring, such as involving their kids in managing household finances.

All things considered, this is a complex issue which can hardly be solved in the short-term; however, if we consistently follow the above-mentioned measures, it is likely that this problem can be overcome.