Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what do you agree or disagree?

In today’s contemporary society, there is a prevailing debate surrounding academic and practical education. One school of thought holds that to successfully overcome examinations at schools, students should gain academic subjects rather than skill ones. While acknowledging the rationale behind this viewpoint, I fully oppose this perspective. This essay will elucidate the significance of both types of knowledge and delineate why it is unwise to focus solely on academic ones.

On one hand, it is understandable why many proponents place a significant emphasis on the importance of academic majors. Subjects such as chemistry, physics, and math are the fundamental knowledge for further academic fields at tertiary education down the road. Besides, it plays a pivotal role in developing careers with higher-salary incomes and stable jobs. Recent surveys conducted by a reputable institution have shown that approximately 55% of workers who graduated in the field of academic majors, such as science and economy, can gain more than 80.000 USD annually. Thus, because of the rife movement of academic fields, scores of parents and teachers aim their children to study these subjects the others.

On the other hand, it is imprudent to overlook the significance of practical subjects, such as cooking or dressing, in schools. In fact, students will be utterly equipped with sufficient soft skills before starting to live far away from their families, especially when they step into university. For instance, without the presence of parents, they can self-prepare meals. Additionally, in our huge competitive world, numerous companies regularly employ candidates who have certain practical skills with decent salaries, such as five-star chiefs or stylists. Therefore, it is evident why skillful subjects should not be eliminated from educational institutions.

In conclusion, while there are arguments in favor of academic knowledge, I would argue that it is imperative to strike a balance between these subjects in order to leave our society refraining from abundant academic worker resources.