Students should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some people believe that students should decide what major they are have to study in university based on the jobs that provide high income. Other have a different opinion on this topic because they think candidates should choose a major they like. Ia disagree with the first statement, even though I can understand that it is rooted to concerns adults have and want a greater future for the next generations.

First and foremost, it is better for the students to choose what they want to do, thinking on careers they are really interesting to. If they study for courses they do not like, it might put a toll to their mental health because they will feel like wasting time on pointless subjects. Also, there is a big chance they are not good enough for those classes since they lack willpower.

To continue with this topic, another reason they should not pick a major based on high-paying careers is that there is a chance to not like them. For example, pleanty of people follow career because of money and success but end up depressed and and hateful towards their profession which impacts their lifes. Also, a major that promises great income does not neccesserally means that those who will select it are going to actually be sucessful.

To sum up, I am positive students should choose a university major thinking about what they want to do on their lives and career. Very often, when people have the profession they really desire, they tend to be better and more successful by trying harder because it brings happiness and fufillment to their lives.