Students should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Choosing a university major is one of the most daunting decisions we make in our adult lives as it determines our future and must be made very carefully. Some belive that students should choose a major that will provide financial rewards later. Personally, I disagree and feel that the choise should be based on passion rather than income.

Contrary to the belief that university should prepare you for a high earning salary, a person’s interest should be the key factor when choosing a major. Indeed, if you do whatever you love, you never work a day in your life. This means that if your dream is to become a surgeon, for instance, then performing operations every day will not be boring, but a dream come true. The same goes for someone who loves art. Working in a gallery each day, surrounded by what you love, will feel like being paid for doing your favorite hobby. So, students should choose to major in an area wgere they can see themselbes being happy and fulfilled. If a high-paying salary comes along with that, then it’s a bonus.

In addition, choosing a major based solely on financial reward rather than on fulfilment can lead to a life of misery.We spend most of our lives at work. Even if the salary is exeptional, and you can afford your dream home, holidays and expensive luxuries, who wants to be doing somthing that they don’t feel inspired by? Evidence shows that this will lead to stress and regret later in life when you discover that money cant buy happines. Therefore, we should study something that will lead to a path of fullfilment and satisfaction. It is better to look back and be happy with the life we have lived, rather than the money we made.

To conclude, choosing a university major is a guge decision for many people who are just at the beginning of the rest of their lives. It is a decision that can shape their future and therefore should be chosen with care. Although potential salay is an important conisderation, I strongly belive that following our dreams rather than living a life of regret should be the guiding facror when making this choice.