Studies show that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they can get a job when leave prison. Do you agree or disagree?

Studies have suggested that educational initiatives should be prioritized as the optimal way to mitigate crime rates and to reduce recidivism, since several offenders are notorious for their limited educational profiles. This essay will elaborate justifications why even though enhanced academic backgrounds are highly instrumental in the reintegration of these former law-breakers, other solutions are also vital, such as community and government support.

From my perspective, training programs that enable ex-offenders to secure jobs post imprisonment are significant for two major reasons. The strongest rationale behind this would be to diminish financial strain faced by most criminals after their release. Unclean criminal records and lack of working capacity can tremendously hinder their career prospects due to employers’ reluctance to hire them, leaving them little room for financial and personal improvement. Consequently, they are left no choice but to resort to extreme measures to sustain their lives, including pickpocketing, theft or robbery. Hence, if they are adequately trained during their imprisonment and equipped with vocational knowledge as well as skills, they are more conditioned to secure employment and earn regular income. Financial stability should bolster their self-esteem and pave the way for their social reintegration. Besides, educational programs for former criminals should foster growth mindset, which can drive their betterment and prosperity. Learning new things will help them to not only expand knowledge but also to enrich perspectives, facilitating their holistic growth as a valuable member for society.

Conversely, I assert that educational enhancement is not sufficient to avert law breakers from reverting to illegitimate deeds; instead, governmental and community aids are also demanded. Specifically, their endeavors to fit in with the old community are mainly impeded by social stigma and prejudices since some people still regard them as a potential threat. This highlights the need for social events, where these past offenders can show their worth and contribute their effort, such as voluntary projects or charitable activities for the disabled. Moreover, governments can also allocate the budget to financially aid these ex-criminals. Take, for instance, a former prisoner who plans to open a grocery store but fails miserable due to limited finance. By offering him a loan with a modest interest rate, the local authority can make his business proposal feasible and give him a chance to rebuild his life.

To sum up, I opine that governmental attempts to educatate ex-offenders are highly essential for them to reintegrate back into their community, but it does not eclipse the significance of other methods, including social activities and government’s financial aid. A multifaceted approach should be adopted to reduce recidivism and foster a forgiving society where humans of all kinds can live harmoniously.