Studies show that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they can get a job when leave prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Scientific research suggests criminals show a low level of education. To address this issue, educating people in prisons is needed to help them to get a job after they are released. From my perspective, the introduction of this approach will not change a situation considerably.

Even though participating in an educational process plays a significant role in resocialization, it doesn’t effectively decrease crime rate. In the modern era of the widespread accessible internet self-education becomes affordable even within marginal communities. Therefore, if people from ghetto want to get a decent job, they can educate themselves by using free materials from the internet. When criminals are imprisoned, it seems doubtful that they would be interested in acquiring knowledge or useful skills under immense psychological pressure and frequent exposure of several threats within an aggressive environment. For example, in a soviet prison culture, people striving for knowledge were treated cruelly by others, because they waste their time instead of helping other inmates to build a resilient hierarchy system.

Additionally, the main factor of a high level of crime lies behind the society and culture, not education itself. If a criminal released from a prison, returns to his previous social circle, the negative exposure of the criminal community will be superior over gained knowledge, steering him to continue committing crimes in a future. Moreover, he will obviously apply new skills to be better organised. Consequently, former prisoners should be sent to other communities and be involved in social activities. As a result, a person will change the behaviour and his attitude towards the law. For instance, to solve the problem of a raising number of ghettoes in Detroit, the government decided to destruct criminal districts, then sent inhabitants to relatively safe ones.

In conclusion, the government should make a lot of efforts to increase the efficacy of resocialization programs by addressing prisoners’ psychological needs. Nevertheless, most of them wouldn’t change their habits regardless of better comfort conditions or proposed educational programs.