Studying with a group of students in a classroom is more beneficial than learning online at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Firstly, learning in a classroom suits most students. It is a good way to see more than one point of view and also, the pupils can work in groups and interact physically with each other, both skills would be very important later in life, when they enter working life and have to work on a task with a number of people with different abilities and weaknesses. In addition, children that learn at home find difficult to adapt to university life, halls of residence and overcrowded classrooms when they are used to work in a more quiet environment. We cannot forget either than some subjects are very practical, such as Science experiments, which are hard or unsafe to do at home. In my experience as a Science teacher, pupils loved practical work and it helped to understand the theory

On the other hand, there are students that find very hard interact with other pupils and prefer to work alone. This could be for a number of reasons, the pupil could be neuro divergent, or simply does not find comfortable trusting other people with the different tasks of working as a group. Also, we cannot forget that neuro divergent students may have sensory sensibilities and could find extremely had to learn in a noisy classroom.

Furthermore, classroom control has been a continuous issue in the teaching community, discipline has become a real problem for some teachers and while I do not support the harsh measures taken in the past, as a secondary teacher, sometimes it is hard to keep a full class engaged.

In conclusion, learning at home could be beneficial for some students and in some circumstances. However, it would also deprive the pupil of some necessary experiences which would help, not only the learning of a subject, but also how to exchange information, delegate tasks, understand other points of view and, of course, friendship and human interaction.