Studying with a group of students in a classroom is more beneficial than learning online at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As advanced technology emerges, studying has become more convenient and accessible beyond classrooms, particularly with the rising popularity of online learning. Debates on the comparison of in-classroom learning and online learning remains a focal point of discussion. In my view, I agree that studying in classrooms with students provides more benefits than studying online at home.

In-person learning promotes interaction and knowledge-sharing among fellow students. Pupils may exchange their ideas and help each other on key points that they do not understand, fostering new ideas and more creative learning styles. A particular example of this is when students are required to participate in group discussions. During group discussions, students must express their perceptions on a given topic or a critical-thinking question. Thus, their diverse ideas are shared within their groups, enabling them to take in new ideas beyond their own ideas.

Moreover, studying in a classroom allows students to be more disciplined compared to online learning. Pupils are more concentrated and well-behaved in a classroom because they fear their teachers’ punishment for their misconduct. Online classes, on the other hand, prevent teachers from monitoring their students’ attention due to their distant locations. For instance, during an in-person classroom, students tend to pay more attention to lectures despite their drowsiness. However, in online classes, students may fall asleep during lectures and avoid punishments because their lecturers would not know whether or not they are listening.

Nevertheless, learning online at home allows students to expand their knowledge at their own pace within their comfort zones. Some learners may find it easier to absorb new information at home because there is no one to pressure or closely monitor their study.

To conclude, despite the comfortability of learning at home, in-classroom learning enables students to be more disciplined and gain new insights from their peers. Although some may prefer online learning, the benefits of studying with a group of students in a classroom prevail.