Success in life is more a matter of luck than ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some argue that success is purely a matter of luck, others believe it depends on skill and hard work. I do not support either of these views entirely, abilities play the same role as fortune and can equally help to reach goals.

On one hand, luck can be a major factor in achieving success in life. No matter how skillful a person is, if he is not in the right place at the right time, it is almost impossible to accomplish his plans. There are many cases of small companies being presented with the chance of being sponsored by opportunistic investors. For example, the phone vendor, Blackberry, was a tiny business with little market trade experience, but the fact that people around the globe were tired of the old phones helped them to become the leading corporation for the next 15 years.

On the other hand, abilities are more consistent factors of success. Personal attributes, such as intelligence, charisma, and knowledge of your field are more likely to boost your career than a mere chance. Developing new skills also raises adaptability which can help to spot good opportunities. Going back to the example of Blackberry, if not for the technical skills of its CEO, they could never implement their main feature – free messenger, which more likely would not receive such interest from the public.

In conclusion, while luck is undoubtedly influential in great success, no one can purely rely on events that are undependable from their actions and should constantly learn something new. Otherwise, it is impossible to benefit in life.