Success is often measured by wealth and material belongings in modern times. Do you think wealth is the best measure of success? What, in your opinion, makes a person successful in life?

Nowadays, people measure success by money and possessions. However, this essay argues that wealth is not the best indicator of achievement because many rich individuals are not content. Instead, it advocates for happiness and satisfaction to be the most suitable representatives of success in life.

Happiness is not bought by money. Firstly, some people are dissatisfied by what they possess no matter how much it is; thus, they live in constant envy, jealousy, and misery. Secondly, many rich people are always worried about maintaining and growing their wealth that they never get to enjoy it. Thirdly, a lot of wealthy individuals are burdened by health or family problems that ruins the experience of being rich for them. Therefore, although money may be a factor in determining happiness, it is never sufficient; thus, people should not judge others solely on what they possess. For example, a 2019 American study suggested that the risk of depression is doubled in businessmen and investors than the normal population.

On the other hand, being content is the true indicator of success. Most people thrive to be happy and live a peaceful life. However, they never achieve their desires because they are never satisfied by what they did and they always try to do better instead. A poor person who is satisfied by their life and living without worries is happier and more successful than a rich person who is constantly worried and anxious about their affairs.

In conclusion, while money plays a role in defining happiness and success, being satisfied with a peaceful state of mind is the true meaning of success.