Technology has been said to benefit teenagers greatly but there are those that argue it is detrimental to their lives. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The advent of technology has introduced an era of possibilities in adolescent lives, often viewed from a perspective of convenience and advantages. Some individuals contend that technology provides teenagers with valuable tools, offering benefits in enhancing their educational experience and fostering social connection. Conversely, others argue that technology has brought more harm than benefits, exposing these vulnerable individuals to negative content such as bulling, which affect their emotional and mental health. I agree, to a certain extant, that the advantages of technology outweigh the disadvantages.

To begin with, one of the prominent tools that technological advancement has provided is facilitating access to information and learning materials, allowing teenagers to expand their knowledge beyond classrooms. For instance, Internet has granted an unprecedented access to a vast number of educational platforms, websites and online courses that helps teenagers to better apprehend their lessons and do their homework, all of which for free. Similarly, internet has promoted communication among young individuals and on an international level. By the mean of social media, today, young adolescent, can connect with peers from all over the word, which introduce them to different cultures, expend their perspective about life and nurture their essential human skills such as empathy and kindness.

On the other hand, technology does not come without its drawbacks. Excessive use of technology might cause addictive behavior and isolation, leading to issues such as bulling, isolation and decrease physical activity, all of which are going to have a harmful effect on teenagers’ both emotional and physical health. Teenage-hood is a vulnerable and a critical episode in a individuals development, as they are more influenced by their peers opinion about them, which make them more susceptible to negative comments. For example, nowadays, many teenage girls are getting bullied on social media, from their colleague, about their style, hair, race and body-size, often leading to low self-esteem and depression.

In conclusion, technology is ubiquitous in teenagers’ life, while some assert that it brought merits, such as unlimited access to information and learning materials which promote knowledge, others argue that technology has promoted harm and negative behavior among young individuals like cyber-bulling that results into isolation and depression. In my opinion, the merits of technology are more significant than the demerits, and technology should be used under adults control to mitigate the damage from harmful behavior.