‘Telecommuting’ refers to workers doing their jobs from home for part of each week and communicating with their office using computer technology. Telecommuting is growing in many countries and is expected to be common for most office workers in the coming decades. How do you think society will be affected by the growth of telecommuting?

In today’s modern society, high technology is developed and loved by everyone. Because high-tech can bring us a lot of benefits, including telecommuting. Of course, working online brings us many advantages, Not only that, it also brings us some disadvantages. So, in that essay we will see about what is affected the growth of telecommuting. In my opinion, working at home can affect us in two directions are good influences and bad influences. Firstly, the good things teleworking can influence on us is help people to balance between career and family. Apparently, we can see a lot of workers or college students spend much of their time on their job and don’t have enough time for their family. But with telework, people will work at home to work and do housework or make beautiful memories with family members at the same time. The second is we can save time, money by working online. When doing work online, we don’t need to go to work so that we can save time going to work, money on traveling to work. In a day when people working online, they just need to get up, personal hygiene, sit at the table and work quickly so that it can limit factors that cause workers to be late for work, such as traffic jam, getting up late. Besides that, businesses only need to rent a small office or completely own high-tech equipment. It helps people save on office rental costs, electricity and water bills. Secondly, about the bad effects of telecommuting affecting us. The first is cybersecurity. The fact is still not any applications or software is absolutely safe. But in work, we need high security so the information can leak out and cause difficulty in managing information security. The second is to reduce the connection between people and people. Working at home for a long time will make people have less chance to go outside, work or communicate with people. Besides that, telework will cause difficulty for new staff. Normally, new staff must have a period of time to get acquainted with colleagues and adapt to a new job. But working online doesn’t give them many chances to do that. The third is about the internet. Telecommuting completely depends on the internet. However, in some case, the internet of workers is not always stable. Sometimes it will have connection errors and affect the quality of work. In conclusion, the growth of telecommuting all brings us good fluences and bad fluences. But I am really interested in this way of working, so I believe that humans can solve the drawbacks and optimize the advantages of working online.