‘Telecommuting’ refers to workers doing their jobs from home for part of each week and communicating with their office using computer technology. Telecommuting is growing in many countries and is expected to be common for most office workers in the coming decades. How do you think society will be affected by the growth of telecommuting?

In recent years, the birth of technology has been very popular and it greatly affects human life. And so, many jobs have also changed the way to work because of the appearance of telecommuting. It allows workers to work at home without going to the company and, in my view, that supports the development of society.

To begin with, there are many reasons that workers should prioritize telecommuting, but especially mention is that workers will not have many annoying problems such as traffic jam, cars breaking down, out of gas, and more other things when going to the company or workplace and instead is the workers can use computer, smartphone,… to work at home, that helps to the transport problem more convenient. Besides, telecommuting can also avoid the environmental pollution problem because workers don’t need to use their vehicle to get to work, and so, people will not be affected by carbon dioxide released into the environment from many vehicles. Moreover, working from home can make the workers feel comfortable and that can help the quality of work be higher, more efficient. From that, the company will be more developed.

On the other hand, there is nothing that doesn’t have its disadvantages, so telecommuting also has them. Workers can abuse that convenience. They just need to work with the computer or smartphone and that can lead to laziness, which can be the cause of many diseases such as obesity, high blood pressure,… Besides, electronic devices for working can be expensive and that is really a big problem for those who can’t afford it because they need to spend a lot of money to buy a computer, laptop. The next problem is that the workers’ communication skills are also reduced because they can’t approach their peers to ask or talk, so they won’t have many relationships in their lives.

In a nutshell, telecommuting will be popular in many countries and it is being supported by many people because of its great benefits and the development of technology in society.