The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is proposed that fuel cost elevation is the optimal path to curb environmentally-related issues. Whilst acknowledging the reasons for this thinking, I would argue that there exist other, more efficient approaches to alleviate environmental problems.

Proponents of such an idea would argue that the price elevation on conventional energy can bring many benefits to the environment. Specifically, the rise in expenses provoked by fuel cost increase can discourage the consumer’s demands for applications of petrochemical products such as plastics, fertilizers or diesels, which are the significant contributors to pollution. However, this viewpoint often overlooks the fact that higher fossil fuel prices might serve as an economic motive to integrated oil and gas production. With the attractive economic incentives, the expansion of intensified extraction and exploration activities such as extracting crude oil and natural gas or mining coal would be promoted, leading to environmental degradation, including deforestation, habitat destruction, non-renewable energy depletion and pollution resulting from fossil fuel combustion.

Given the aforementioned limitations, I am convinced that the following remedy would be more sustainable. One such approach is encouraging the use of renewable energy by implementing policies that promote the adoption of greener energy, imposing lower tax on the production of environmentally friendly products and services, raising public awareness of benefits of cleaner energy alternatives. These synchronized measures can catalyze a green-energy transition, thereby better mitigating negative effects of human activities to the environment compared to the fuel cost rising solution.

In conclusion, while raising the cost of fuel can somehow tackle environmental problems, it is not necessarily the best measure. The superior way to sustainably protect the environment can be widespread applications of eco-friendly energy sources.