The best way to solve traffic and transport problems is to encourage people to live in cities rather than in surburbs or countryside. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, the issue of transportation has always been a matter of public interest.While many people champion the notion that living in cities instead of the countryside can solve this problem, I’m inclined to believe that the reality is more than a single dichotomy.Admittedly, living in city centers can reduce the usage of traffic as people can live near their schools or workplaces, which means they have shorter distances to travel every day.In this case, driving cars will become unnecessary, since working or public transport are much less costly.As a result, there will be less traffic in the downtown, releasing pressure in transport systems, as well as diminishing traffic pollution.In addition, the high density of the population may benefit transportation in the long term, for the government can invest budgets only in cities rather than both in cities and the suburbs.

However, encouraging residents to live on the outskirts can also exert a positive effect on addressing traffic problems.With the advancement in Internet technology, dwellers can now work or study online instead of actually traveling to city centers, thus effectively and directly eliminating the need for traffic both in the cities and in the countryside, which is fundamentally beneficial to traffic systems.Also, the smaller population in cities can bring about less traffic congestion and pollution, tackling transport issues permanently.

In conclusion, also I agree it is to some extent reasonable to encourage residents to move to cities, it seems more desirable for me to persuade them to reside in the suburbs, taking into consideration the effectiveness of distant work and study, which can overcome traffic issues once and for all.