The concept of 'digital citizenship' is gaining attention. What responsibilities should individuals have in the online world? How can governments and educational institutions promote responsible online behavior?

Technology plays a tremendous role in our everyday life, nowadays. In recent years, the idea of ‘digital citizenship’ has become significantly essential. Some might argue that the virtual-space should not be regulated, while others feel the necessity of it. In this essay, I will elaborate on, the steps an individual and the authority can take to make make the digital world more safer and convenient for all.

On the one hand, the government can introduce strict rules and regulations, which can reduce crimes like online scamming or identity theft. Other than that, online literacy can be taught in schools to adjust the youth familiar with the concept of ethical and safe virtual life. By doing so, online safety can be ensured. For instance, in recent years, political propaganda and misinformation during the election has become a weopon for the politicians to divide the people. Without proper regulations, these dangerous activities will keep the internet, the government, and the citizen vulnerable.

On the other hand, the authorities must regulate some niche problems, such as pornography and online betting. Due to the availability of these problematic activities, individuals, especially the youths has become addicted and distracted from their study. For example, In Bangladesh, there are some villages where online gambling has become the only occupation for adults and teenagers. Without proper restrictions from the authorities, these issues will continuously cause significant damage to the society, and produce unskilled man-power.

In conclusion, as technology is growing everyday, beside educating the people, the governments should also implement laws to protect it’s people from harm and misinformation. In my view, proper regulations should be implemented to monitor harmful contents and websites to safeguard the larger audiences of the community.