The government should be responsible for providing retirees with financial support and care. While many people think that citizens should save money to take care of themselves when they are old. Discuss both views and give your opinion Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary societal landscape, there is an ongoing debate whether the government should be accountable for providing retirees with financial support and care or if citizens should save money to take care of themselves in their old age. These views are quite extreme and require a comprehensive discussion.

Proponents of the first statement believe that the government is solely responsible for taking care of retirees medically and financially. They have manifold reasons to backup their claim. Firstly, it is implied that the government is supposed to take care of their tax paying residents, and it is more crucial when an individual is retired. Payments made towards the tax is considered as instalments for insuring the golden age. For example, in Canada anyone working a job can see some deductions in their pay stubs marked as Canadian Pension Plan (CPP), which the government pays back as a form of pension when retired. Secondly, the majority of the government’s funding come through tax payers money, which creates a moral and ethical obligation to ensure mental and financial health of retirees.

On the other hand opponents of the statement, abide by the notion that one should save for the future to take care of themselves in old age. They present multiple points proving their stance and emphasize on saving being a vital attribute. Accordingly, they insist on saving and believe that habit of saving should be inculcated at an early age, so that someone retiring must have plenty of savings to live a comfortable life ahead. Moreover, they advocate that the government has already a lot on their plate; for instance, they are using financial resources towards better infrastructure, providing healthcare, education, creating jobs, etc. So, it seems eccentric to impose personal financial needs on the government.

In conclusion, it is imperative for the government to take care of retirees as they have been tax paying citizens for long-term and have contributed towards nations growth, but similarly the public must learn the art of saving to ensure a comfortable future.