The governments should give each citizen a basic income so that they have enough money to live on, even if they are unemployed. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often claimed that all residents should be provided with allowance by authorities, for having sufficient finances to live on irrespective of the population’s status. I partially support this position and this essay is going to report on how the government’s subsidies may foster people’s well-being and can lead to the economic slowdown.

To begin with, the allowance distributed among dwellers by the governing body promotes their welfare. That is to say, a constant basic income reduces stress, which stems from various factors, and leads to a prosperous psychological state. Consequently, this assists to nurture a healthy generation. This fact is attested by several Western countries such as Spain, Italy, the US, and Canada that provided subsidies for from 400 to 4000 low-income residents in recent decades to prove the feasibility of this system. The experiment showed positive effects on well-being and stress reduction.

However, I would argue that permanent financial aid partly contributes to a decrease in economic development. In other words, if there is a steady benefit, numerous people will not try to engage in gainful employment because of low motivation and self-discipline to work. This happens as people tend to live on the survival scale. As a result, it brings a labor shortage and a decline in the growth of the state economy. The US, Germany, and Japan, whose economies are facing wage inflation and crisis because of a deficiency of qualified employers in the labor market can be an excellent example. So, I am convinced that the most positive way to keep balance is to provide an allowance exclusively for low-income and unemployed residents for a limited period.

In conclusion, despite the positive impacts of financial aid on welfare, I believe that authorities should limit the period and the number of beneficiaries to stimulate them to develop and find well-paid jobs.