The growing popularity of online shopping is impacting traditional brick-and-mortar stores and urban centers. What are the negative consequences of this trend, and how can cities and businesses adapt to ensure the survival of physical retail spaces?

The popularity of online shopping increases and as a result impacts classic stores and shopping centers. This essay will examine the negative consequences of this occurrence and suggest some ideas how cities and businesses can preserve physical existence.

It is believed that growth of online ordering popularity it is a negative trend due to disappearance of physical shopping spaces. First of all, this occurrence leads to the employment rate decline, which is a disadvantage for local and global economy. Second reason is that environment is damaged by those online purchase, because of the fact that it is much easier to sell something cheap and low-quality to a customer, when a person cannot physically check it. As a consequence, those goods broke in short period of time after buying and then go to a dump.

It is thought that government and businesses can escape or slow down this trend by some actions. For instance, the local government can provide online shops and items delivery with higher taxes; it will lead to increase in price of online shopping, therefore people will likely use physical shopping methods. Promotion of saving nature and developing health could be used as well. The businesses and cities can create a nature-protecting and health-improving trend, which says that online shopping guides to the environment damage, due to the emission and that going out to a shop is better for a person’s body, because of extra activity.

In conclusion, online shopping leads to the various negative consequences. However, there are some actions which can be done by cities or businesses to save traditional stores.