The increase in food production is mostly due to fertilisers and better machinery. Yet, some think that it harms human health and communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often said that human health and the community can receive an adverse impact due to the use of fertilizers and better machinery for the improvement of food manufacturing. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this confirmation because of the harmful effect on people’s health and society it brings.

Using better machinery in food production can increase unemployment issues. To elaborate, the rapid development of technologies nowadays has released numerous machines and devices to provide staff or companies with many optimal methods to manage food manufacturing. Admittedly, should the manager use machines in their food production, the performance will be enhanced significantly with economical cost instead of spending a large sum of money to hire employees. To exemplify, in Vietnam, there is a study organized by Engineering and Technology University in Vietnam that found that most residents can not have a job because of accessing machinery in many factories. As a result, the unemployment problems can grow considerably

Fertilizers in food manufacturing are also the root of detrimental impact on individuals’ health. To be more precise, because of the profits and the increasing of citizens’ demand for food, most of the companies neglect the harmful effects of adding risky substances into manures for the enhancement of productivity. This circumstance is mostly found in Vietnam where many factories were found to use composts which have larger amounts of pesticides than the allowed degree to grow vegetables. Consequently, many customers will suffer from many risky diseases such as cancer if they consume those products. In short, applying manures to develop food production can harm human health.

To reiterate, I agree with this statement because using fertilizers can cause many harmful diseases to consumers and unemployment for the community. I am of the opinion that to holistic the efficiency of machines and manures, the government must have alternatives to manage the use of fertilizer and associate technology and humans in food production.