The increase in mobile phone use in recent years has transformed the way we live, communicate and do business. Mobile phones can also be the cause of social or medical problems. What forms do these problems take? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of mobile phones?

Mobile phones have transformed the lives of nearly everyone on the planet in the last few years . They have made communication easy and cheap between friends , family and businesses . The phones are not only used for speech and text messages but increasingly to browse the internet , to read email , to play games or to pay for products . In many countries , particularly those with slow network connections , the internet is something that happens on a mobile phone rather than on a computer .

There are also disadvantages to using mobile phones . One is the potential health risk . While the information is not conclusive some people living near to mobile phone transmitters report higher rates of cancer then elsewhere . Keeping a powerful device transmitting waves and heat next to your ear for long periods of time may be harmful to heavy users of mobile phones . There are also social problems related to mobile phone use . Walking around with a phone glued to your ear may prevent you from interacting with other people while anti-social use on public transport or in the cinema has led to many public environments , such as theatres and cinemas , requesting users to switch their phones off or to silent . There are also technical issues with mobile phone use . Many areas do not have network connectivity and the reliability or audio quality of the mobile service in other areas may fall well short of that provided by a landline .

Significant those these drawbacks may be , the huge convenience of the mobile phone will ensure that its use continues to change our lives .