The increased world demand for oil and gas has made it necessary for locating these sources in remote and untouched natural areas. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging these natural areas?

In recent years, there has been an increase in the shortage of oil and gas, which has lead to the dire need to search for energy sources in unexplored places on earth. While some advocate this as a benficial approach, I staunchly contend and believe this can have detrimental effects on our planet, damaging it’s natural resources.

On one side, the primary upside to exploring uninhabited places for oil and gas is that, the supply rate of these fuels can be increased, helping in meeting the demand. Additionally, it can also helpt to curb the rising fuel prices across the world and thereby bolstering for balanced economic growth. For example, if oil is found in abundance in Europe, dependency on gulf countries can be broken and those European countries may also benefit from selling the crude oil.

On the other hand, excavation and drilling of land in search for energy source of fuels, had lead to substantial damages like polluting ground water and diminished air quality. For instance, drilling the land for oil in Northern part of India has completely contaminated the ground water with heavy metals from deep core of the earth, leading to a massive water shortage in remote villages. Furthermore, these activites result in unstable soil and made the land more prone to tremors, impacting the neighbouring environment. For these reasons, I firmly believe the effects of it more detrimental than helpful.

In conclusion, the search for sources of fossil fuels on the outward may appear to be advantageous as it will help mitigate the burning crisis of fuel shortage and stabilizing global economy. However, the disadvantages like spoiling other natural resources like ground water, damaging earth’s landmass of its natural beauty and increasing seismic activities, outweigh the benefits and I strongly agree with this view.