The increasing popularity of virtual reality (VR) and augmented reality (AR) technologies raises questions about their role in education and social interaction. Some believe that VR/AR can enhance learning experiences and foster global connections. Others worry about the potential for isolation and dependence on technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Virtual reality, like most technological advancements are usually welcome with open arms by most people. It ensnares our curiousity, and appeals to the nature that wishes to make every task as simple as possible. The modern mind craves stimulation, not activity. This is why routine tasks or mundane activities, are simply underwhelming. Virtual Reality bridges the gap between stimulation and activity. Perhaps what fascinates people the most is the complexity of such devices. The appreciation of this artistic form of technology, it’s execution, simplicity of use, e.t.c. Maybe it just satisfies the man today, seemingly lazy and unwilling to engage in activities that require immense effort. These questions, whether they have answers or not, must be examined and it’s results contested.

Real-world social interactions and community engagement have already sustained serious damage, and are in constant decline. For this we have smartphones and social media to thank. It is logical after all to want communicate with friends and family on a screen from the comfort of our homes, and near light-speed. The prevalence of these forms of communication can lead to the decay of community and, unlearning social behaviours and customs that have taken evolution years to develop. It is indeed a valid fear that our cognitive ability may suffer the loss of such vital social skill, one that can’t be taught but gained with time and constant real-world interactions.

On the other hand, virtual technology can widen communities. Connecting people across the globe in different countries and continents. An exposure to varying social and cultural practices, creation of new forms of community. Linking people seperated by distance, often thousands of miles, down to millisecond communication gaps. Whilst still visually stimulating the brain. It fosters growth and gathers people with similar interests. Is that not the essence of community?

It’s easy to be sceptical, and that isn’t a problem. Whether an optimist or pessimist, middle ground always exists. I don’t have any concrete views on the topic of the effects of virtual reality. Rather, I encourage an integration of both the technology and real-world interaction. As I said earlier, humans crave stimulation. It is for this reason I believe that even without enforcement, we would easily blend both forms of communication. Because if we did rely solely on one mode. It effectively becomes activity and it loses it’s stimulating abilitiy.