The increasing reliance on personalized AI assistants for daily tasks diminishes critical thinking skills. Do the benefits of convenience outweigh the drawbacks to individual cognitive development?

In recent times, humanity has started depending on artificial intelligence chat bots much more than before. Most people rely on it due to the efficiency of information retrieval and the broad help AI can provide. Even though the benefits such as saving time sound intriguing, the drawbacks such as a potential decline in a persons decision-making ability make me believe the benefits are not worth the drawbacks.

AI assistants can make everyone’s life easier. They can write essays, recommend recipes, write shopping lists and do much more. Using them to gain access to information quickly can make our lives significantly easier. But that reliance comes to a point, as using AI for daily tasks is a different story than say, using AI for research. If an individual depends on AI for every single decision they have to make, with time they will not be able to function without it. The first few months feel like a weight has been lifted off but the inability to decide or think for yourself creeps up rather quickly. As an example, if a student relies solely on AI chat bots to write their essays, they could become unable to think for themselves and write their own essays. If a content creator keeps using AI generated topics to film content on, they might lose the creativity to think of original content. If humans kept depending on artificial intelligence to do the simplest daily tasks for them, they might forget how to do it themselves. People giving the role of creativity and decision-making to AI weakens their own ability of those said roles.

In conclusion, while AI might be an important tool for many reasons, we shouldn’t depend on it for our human roles.