The main purpose of advertising is to increase the sales of products that people don’t really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Stepping into the 21st century, advertising has become ubiquitous and proved indispensable in day-to-day life. For many, the main purpose of advertising is to stimulate purchases of merchandise that is not necessarily needed. Personally, I am of mixed opinion on the topic given.

Granted, it is undeniable that the proliferation of advertisements draws attention to unwanted products. Being brought to the brightest light, goods appearing in advertisements seem to be of paramount significance, playing an essential role to lead a better life. Unnecessary products, similarly, could be marketed with a number of unreal compliments, going viral and hence attracting consumers with no initial intention of buying them.

Nonetheless, advertisements could not drive individuals to purchase products if they had a determined mindset. For those who have set a clear list of what they need to buy and consume, advertising fades in importance, having no potential of changing the consumers’ decisions. In these cases, advertisements only play a minor part in the process of decision-making, leaving the space for individuals to consider and come up with the final answer.

Furthermore, the aim of advertising is to spur the growth of the economy. It is clear that increased purchase ability generates promising markets for products worldwide, which in turn contributes to advancements of international trade. In addition, advertising may bring revenues to the state, facilitating developments in infrastructure and other sectors such as public services. Possessing a larger budget, governmental parties are capable of raising social welfare, generating a healthy environment for the populace to thrive and succeed.

To wrap up, I hold the notion that despite contributing to consumers’ purchase of unwanted products, advertisements could not completely drive customers to afford things they do not necessarily need. Advertising would have other targets such as stimulating economic growth and generating revenues, enabling a better life for the public.