The main purpose of advertising is to increase the sales of products that people don't really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A number of individuals are of the opinion that the main purpose of advertisements is to simply boost the sales of products that do not meet customers’ need. In my opinion, while there are some valid arguments for this viewpoint, I firmly believe that the the main purpose of advertising should be to inform people about the products.

The foremost argument for those who believe that types of advertisement aim only at stimulating the sales of unnecessary products is the wide belief imposed on advertisement. Nowadays, there are many cases that producers choose to hire expert agency as a gimmick, and further apply celebrity endorsement and the support of social media platforms in order to amplify the effectiveness of their product instead of enhancing its quality which may cost huge capitals. This aims at stimulating the market consumption and then making more profit without determining the actual demand , leading to some misinformation about the products and potentially intensifying customers’ concern over the authenticity of advertisements.

Although this phenomena has become widespread over the world, I agree that the main objective of advertisements should be to give consumers information about products itself. It is essential for companies to provide authentic information about a type of service or product, as it helps them gain lasting credits from customers. By pointing out whether it is suitable for a specific type of people, advertisements can accelerate clients’ decision-making process and create a wide trust among them, potentially boosting sales and fostering brand loyalties in the long-term.

In conclusion, I maintain that the ultimate goal of advertisements is to report real information about products.