The main purpose of advertising is to increase the sales of products that people don't really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that advertising only boosts the sales of items that consumers do not truly need. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this perspective, since advertisements can benefit each individual and society as a whole.

One of the primary reasons is that advertising strategies play a vital role in meeting customers’ demand. This is because advertisements that promptly adapt to the “green trend” are likely to attract customers who prioritize sustainability and freshness. For instance, some Vietnamese cosmetic brands such as Cocoon or Lemonade have gained popularity thanks to posts and short videos that introduced natural ingredients and recyclable packaging. This demonstrated how advertisements in response to consumers’ preference can enhance brand images and bring long-term advantages for consumers.

Furthermore, the revenue from advertisements can promote social development. Nowadays, companies tend to contribute their majority of budget from advertisements to community activities such as donating to underprivileged families, constructing public areas, or organizing social events. Thanks to these efforts, businesses can build a sense of humanity and trust for consumers, resulting in supporting the social growth of a nation.

To sum up, I strongly disagree that the aim of advertisements only increase the sales of products. Not only can they satisfy customers’ demand, but they also contribute to social progress.