The media pay too much attention to the lives and relationship of celebrities such as actors singers or footballers. They should spend more time reporting the lives of ordinary people instead. Do you agree or disagree

It is often argued that famous people are being overly exposed, while normal people are less focused on by the media. From my perspective, it is clear that celebrities’ privacy is being invaded seriously, however, ordinary people should not appear on the public media too much.

On the one hand, traditional and online newspapers are taking too much care for famous people, which causes many detrimental impacts. One biggest problem is their privacy violation, these people cannot have a normal daily activity due to being chased by paparazzi everywhere they go, this has led to bad relationships between celebrities and publishers in recent years. Another negative effect is famous people usually have to please their fans and audience or they will be judged and given bad comments throughout many social media platforms, which tackle significant mental health issues. For example, many K-pop stars in Korea were reported to terminate their lives because of being stressed by judgements they could not bear.

On the other hand, it is unnecessary for the press to focus on normal people. First of all, because ordinary people attract less curiousity than celebrities, the publisher will not get enough attention to maintain the number of readers every day, which contributes to their profit. Secondly, it is considered to against human rights if the journalists concentrate on someone’s life too much, as a result, they can be sued and deliver disadvantages for the publishing industry such as being prohibited by the authority. Nevertheless, the media can mainly write about ordinary people with positive cases to encourage the community in doing right things, or dangerous situations to develop people’s awareness about safety in life.

To sum up, it is undeniable that the journal industry primarily should focus on people, however, it depends on which problem they should concentrate on and how important it is to put less care on celebrities.