The media pays too much attention to the lives and relationships of celebrities such as actors, Singers, or footballers. They should spend more time reporting about ordinary people instead. Do you agree or Disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is said that news stories these days excessively revolve around the personal lives of celebrities; therefore, it is suggested that the media should divert their attention to life stories of the general public. I equally agree and disagree with this suggestion, and this essay will detail the reasons why.

Too much coverage of public figures may set unrealistic expectations for beauty, and success, resulting in lower self-esteem among audiences. Well-known individuals are often portrayed as having flawless appearances and extravagant lifestyles. These idealized images can make people feel insecure or inadequate about their own lives. On the other hand, featuring stories of commoners from various backgrounds and lifestyles, or articles showcasing normal individuals* everyday achievements, allows viewers to see themselves reflected in the media, reducing the pressure to conform to standards set through celebrities’ lives.

Nevertheless, people from the entertainment and sports industries should not be neglected completely for they can be a nation’s economic driver. Reports on celebrity-related events, such as movie premieres or sports tournaments, often raise awareness and generate excitement among fans, which lead to them spending on products or services related to these events. In addition, tourism revenues can be increased through media attention to the personal travels or vacations of famous actors which, in turn, can inspire fans to visit the same destinations.

In conclusion, the main reason why I agree is that overexposure to famous people’s private affairs may glamorize unrealistic standards, consequently negatively impacting self-esteem.

However, I also believe that completely diverting the spotlight away from celebrities would be impractical because of the inherent interest in these people.