The media pays too much attention to the lives and relationships of celebrities such as actors, Singers, or footballers. They should spend more time reporting about ordinary people instead. Do you agree or Disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, the social media are so obsessed with celebrities’ private lives that they undervalued the stories of ordinary people. From my point of view, I advocate that the media should move their attention to the lives of ordinary people more than just focusing on famous people.

Journalism tends to desire celebrities’ news more as they have strong influence among various groups of people. The more famous the celebrities are, the more privacy infringement they will get. Their normal stories can be exaggerated in order to gain social attraction and easily trigger community discussions because the public are curious about popular people’s lives. For example, paparazzis, ignoring the fact that they are disturbing other individuals’ lives, are always ready to raise their cameras toward a famous singer just to capture every move or expression of his even when he just takes a walk along the street like many other people.

On the other hand, ordinary people’s stories are likely to be ignored or underestimated by the media. The normal people account for the majority part in the society, whose stories are tagged to be common and less attractive to publicity. However, normal news from an ordinary individual can also energize the community. For instance, a report about a student, who is disabled but can overcome all the struggles to go to school, is a positive and valuable news that needs to be viral widely. This can help inspire more disabled people to follow their dreams of studying.

In conclusion, journalism nowadays seems to over-focus on famous people while underestimating the people who are unpopular. I contend that the media should shift their concentration on news that has truly value more than chasing after celebrities’ fame.