The number of children that read books for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years. what are the reasons for this ?How can we encourage children to read more?

These days, the number of students attracted to reading books in their leisure time is very trivial. This essay presents the possible reasons associated with this downtrend and suggests novel ideas to solve the problem at hand.

There are numerous reasons which have contributed to books experiencing a decrease in popularity. Firstly, the rapid evolution of entertainment technology and its invasion into households, particularly, gaming devices, mobile phones, etc. have resulted in students having a variety of digital options to indulge in during their free hours. Furthermore, exposure to such devices from a very young age have resulted in a situation where the children are almost addicted to them. Secondly, the evolution of traditional books into audiobooks and ebooks, which are significantly more user-friendly and cost-efficient have also resulted in the drastic drop in sales of traditional books.

A couple of solutions can be explored to mitigate this situation. To begin with, Mandatory reading hours can be introduced in academic institutions to force children into reading. Similarly, a strict cap on screen time can be enforced by parents at home, so that kids will have to look for other options as a hobby. Additionally, reading competitions can also be constituted in schools to encourage children to nurture this habit. Finally, another possible solution is to have kids familiarize themselves with books from a very young age; Exposure to age-appropriate texts as they grow can help inculcate reading habits early on.

To conclude, while there is a sharp dip in the number of students interested in leisurely reading, by implementing creative solutions and consistent motivation, we can help them to fall in love with books.