The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think, and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do agree or disagree this view?

In this day and age, one of the most debated issues is whether the youngsters should pass down the old traditional mindset about lifestyles. Some argue that such behaviors are unsuitable for them in this modern era. From my viewpoint, I am partly in favour of this opinion.

To begin with, outdated beliefs may prevent individuals from progressing in both their life and career. We are living in a constantly evolving world, where changes are appearing every day, and people are encouraged to explore new things. Thus, living with a structured life will lead to the restraint of improvement and creativity, which make people inflexible and lack variety in both their work and way of living. Besides, when each behavior and thought follows those expectations, individuals may lack confidence, be timid and struggle to express their personal identity. For instance, some prejudice about gender makes citizens today scared and restrict youngsters’ freedom to choose their sexual orientation or lifestyles.

However, there have been some positives and helpfulness when living in a standard environment. In this competitive and modern society, values such as honesty and responsibility are priceless assets, which technology is not able to replace. This may create trust and professionalism that open more job opportunities and long-term career success for workers. Furthermore, conventional principles often encourage discipline and self-control. Young people, who learn to plan ahead, prioritize crucial tasks, and maintain stability are more likely to work efficiently and achieve their goals.

In conclusion, I partly agree that traditional views held by older generations are beneficial and helpful for modern life. Although there are some limitations about creativity and flexibility, a correct lifestyle will help citizens be more systematic, which directly contributes to their career chances.