The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In recent years, childhood obesity has become a major concern, and the percentage of overweight children has risen 20% in Western society over the last decade. This sitation has a number of causes and can be improved through different solutions.

There are a number of factors that causes obesity. One possible reason for this problem is the high consumption of junk food among children. The popularity of fast food restaurants is also growing day by day. Moreover, these restaurants offer attractive discounts or advertisements displayed on televison about fast food chains such as Mc Donald’s and KFC. Thus, kids are more likely to eat such kind of foods. On the other hand, the second possible cause for this issue is hectic lifestyle. Almost nobody finds enough time to devote for preparing food at home, which is healthy for human body. So, parents to prefer prepare ready-made meals instead of cooking by themselves.

One possible solution for the first issue is to remove fast food advertisements from during the children programming time and represent graphing warning labels on packaging about high sugar, fat and salt content. By making these kind of measures lead to less unhealthy eating habit. On the other hand, a possible way to decrease obesity for the second problem is goverment should offer an option flexible working hours, allowing individuals more time to prepare meals; as a result parents are able to look after their kids very well.

To sum up, the provided situation happens due to some reasons such as eating unhealthy foods and the busy life, and when certain solutions are successfully applied, the problem can be solved.