The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

The health of children has evidently changed. In a past decade, about 20% rise in the percentage of overweight youngsters has been noticed in western societies. This essay will discuss what has caused this change in them, what are its side effects and will suggest some possible solutions to tackle this problem.

The primary reason of having over an average weight is consuming fast food. The chains and factories produce heavily processed products which are cheap, tasty and appitizing. This arises an urge to have more of it, resulting in gain of fats and calories. Another cause of overweight is lack of physical exercise. In this technological era, young generation is addicted to their screens. This has resulted the decrease in their outdoor playing duration and engagement in activities. Clearly, this has negative impact on a childs health, making them obese. It even can result into behavioural changes, anger issues, type-2 diabetes and other severe problems.

One of the way to cure this condition of extra fats in children is improving their habits. They should be guided and taught about eating healthy balanced diet and necessasity of physical activities in life. This role can be taken care by the schools, encouraging students to have nutritious food and make them actively participate in playing outdoor games. At home level, parents should moniter their child, put restrictions on eating processed food items and set a limit on using phones.

The adverse effect on the younger generations health is observed, especially in western countries they are found to be overweight. This essay has discussed the possible causes of this being consumption of unhealthy food and physical inactivity leading to obesity and other health issues. Further, this essay has highlighted few initiative that schools and parents could take to control their eating habits and be more active.