The population of many cities is growing rapidly. What are the effects on people living in these cities? What can be done to maintain the quality of life of these people?

In this day and age, overpopulation is a ubiquitous problem in many developing countries, and its effects on societal stability are unforeseeable. The swift increase in the scale of the community may cause a decline in living standards, pollution, and strain on facilities, as well as services. Therefore, there are a range of initiatives for this emerging concern, such as upgrading infrastructure, increasing the quality of social utilities, and family planning.

It is apparent that the citizens are directly suffering the influences of overcrowding on both physical and mental aspects. To be specific, traffic congestion is unavoidable in cities, where the population density is extremely high, and these bottlenecks of traffic not only affect the residential living quality but also thwart logistic activities, which potentially lead to national economic setbacks. Beyond congestion, pollution is also a byproduct of overpopulation, depending on what the needs of the citizens are, there are many kinds of pollution, like air pollution, water pollution, noise pollution, and light pollution. These toxic conditions impact both residential physical health and mental well-being. Take India for an example, when this country is one of the most polluted nations in the world, and the mortality rate by air pollution in this country is the highest, as a result. Furthermore, an enormous wave of users can put substantial pressure on public services, which might cause a decline in service quality and experience.

Solutions for overcrowding are various, yet there are also a dozen of drawbacks belong that, and choosing the most optimal initiative is an enduring challenge. The extension of infrastructure, such as road systems, housing, and service scale or operating estate funds for affordable residences are considered as suitable approaches to satisfy the basic needs of a vast number of dwellers. However, these solutions are passive and short-term ones and they can not entirely eradicate or control the excessive population. Moreover, upgrading facilities entails a large amount of money, and this considerable outflow of budget may lead to instability and economic setbacks in overpopulated countries. Hence, family planning is a long-term and possible approach that numerous nations are implementing nowadays. When the number of children in a family is controlled, the government is able to supervise the population in the far future and use the fines from law-breaking families for the upgrading of infrastructure as a temporary solution. Take China for an example, from an overpopulated country to a developing nation, China implemented a family planning program in 1978 to control overpopulation and received positive results in following years.

In conclusion, as the urban population continues to increase at an unprecedented rate, governments around the world have to face myriad challenges. In order to solve these problems, many initiatives have been deliberated, but opting for the most optimal one still is a long-standing issue. Thus, family planning is a practical and realistic solution being suitable for every countries and is the key to a stable and sustainable future. (500)