The prompt is Some people think that children should have the freedom to make mistakes, while others believe that adults should prevent them from making mistakes. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Nowadays a number of individuals argue that kids should be free to make mistakes, while others believe that old people, especially parents, should act to avoid bad behaviour. Although freedom may represent a threat for children in some ocasions, I believe young people should be free to make mistakes in the majority of the time.

On one hand, the opportunity to experience the consequences of making mistakes may be significantly helpful in order to developing a sense of danger. For example, if a child is cooking and suffer a burn during the process, she will probably be more aware of situations envolving dealing with hot equipment. Additionally, making mistakes is important to improving new skills. Errors help children to identify abillities that must developed to face a similar situation in the future.

On the other hand, giving too much liberty to young individuals may be dangerous for themselves. There are some mistakes in which the consequences are permanent, therefore, in some ocasions, adults must act to prevent kids to behaviour in wrong manners. In Brazil, for example, the main cause of death for children under 6 year old is drowning. In this context, parents and family should limit the freedom of a child when dealing with water sports or other harzard activities.

In conclusion, I personally believe children should have the opportunity to make mistakes without interference of an adult in most of the time. However, in some specific ocasions, family should prevent kids to going against the rules, otherwise the consequences of the errors could be much more prejudicial than beneficial.