The range of technology available to people is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Others think it has the opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Opinions are divided on whether the increasing range of technological devices available is widening or narrowing the gap between rich and poor. I believe that thanks to the availability of modern technologies, the less well-off population now can enjoy most of what used to be preserved for the wealthy only.

Admittedly, there are certainly a large number of products that people in low-income brackets cannot afford. For example, the latest model of an iPhone costs shy of 2000 dollars, which is possibly equivalent to a yearly income of a large section of society. High-end products such as a Gucci handbag or a Rolex watch could cost hundreds of thousands of dollars and it would be unthinkable that those families could ever afford to pay for such items. Advancements in space technology have allowed people to travel into space, but such a trip would cost over 200.000 dollars. This is surely unaffordable for the masses.

However, for every item mentioned above, there are always a range of items that have similar functions and are affordable for people from other economic classes. One can easily purchase a smartphone with 100 dollars or buy a wrist watch that costs under 150 dollars. Similarly, although rich people can enjoy trips into space, the advent of virtual reality allows less well-off people to experience what it is like to be in a weightless environment and admire the vastness of the universe. Furthermore, the introduction of refrigeration technologies has allowed food companies to export their products to other regions, reducing prices of food and allowing more people to enjoy the same range of food.

In conclusion, the increasing availability of technology has certainly helped in bridging the chasm between rich and poor, as clearly shown in examples in preceding paragraphs.