The teaching of Information Technology is a standard part of the school curriculum in most secondary schools. The same is now happening in primary schools, where children as young as six are learning how to use computers. However, there is a danger that IT skills are being taught at the expense of more basic skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, Information Technology has become the priority of educational curriculum in most secondary and primary schools. To a certain extent I agree that there are few drawbacks of teaching technology skills at a young age. However, I also think that IT skills have a positive impact on children.

To begin with, acquiring IT skills from an early age prepares children for the digital world. Since technology is still developing quickly, teaching children digital skills early in life is a proactive way to make sure they are prepared and flexible. Starting to use technology early helps children get better at using computers, think more critically and adapt easily. For example, my cousin explores the world digitally, by using geography application with maps and quizzes. Educational applications help kids to get ready for Information Technology world.

Ignoring important skills like reading, writing may be a risk for child’s development. These basic skills are crucial for cognitive development, effective communication and academic success. For instance, If a primary school student emphasis only on tech skills, student may lost ability to read or write proficiently. Child development is jeopardised when basic skills are neglected in favor of Information Technology education.

While the integration of Information Technology proficiency into primary school education is a positive impact preparing students for digital future, a balance is also essential. There is a risk of neglecting basic skills to approach education, ensuring that children are proficient in both IT and foundational skills.